top of page

It seems like a lot. Where is all of this going?


Let's ignore the crazy eyes, I have in this picture of us at the 2020 Fort Worth Stock Show and focus on the article. Over the recent weeks (although you might say it had started a couple of years ago and we are just a bit slow about getting things done up until now) we have been driving forward with our farm stuff. Website. Logo. Social Media. Now the blog… it all seems like a lot, probably because it is a lot. I had a close friend ask me the other day, ‘Why are you doing all of this?’ By this she meant the website, the logo, pretty much all of the stuff I just mentioned; she continued with, ‘You only have 8 goats.’ This conversation has been rolling around in my head for the last couple of days and this is my answer to that.


I love doing it. I know, that really is too simple of an answer so I’ll go on. I love writing and I love puttering with the website and images. Social media is an exciting tool when used correctly to tell the world about the things you are passionate about - the key phrase there being, ‘when used correctly’. I’m not a very eloquent person in the flesh and probably have high functioning social anxiety. But, on paper… whether it’s text or email or blog… I don’t feel the pressure of trying to meet other peoples’ approval and it comes out a much more authentic version of myself.


So, when I combine all of that with the goats… this is what I get. Now that you know the why, I’ll explain where all of this is going.



The website is a work in progress… a disastrous construction zone that is very slowly taking the shape I want. I’m a perfectionist and fickle and those two traits slow me down because everything has to be an exact way. (Side note, this is why I’m not a writer.) The plan with the website is to get all the pages functioning and be attractive and informative. While social media is great, maybe I am a bit old school because I like actual websites with pages with individual information and pictures. I like to study them for whatever that is worth. So, pages are to be functional and as soon as that happens I do have every intention of going premium with it and getting the domain set up. It will happen, I just don’t see the point of it until the site is a little further along.


Now onto the logo, this is pretty simple. We needed one. It lends a more genuine feel to the business, I think. I am an art class failure. A cousin who is an artist, Jennifer Welch, was gracious enough to help us out with the logo and we are udderly (sorry for the pun) thrilled with it. It’s so much better than anything we could have drawn up ourselves. Thank you Jennifer!


Social media is such a huge part of just about everyone’s lives these days. It’s such a fantastic way to keep in touch and be a part of the lives of everyone, even those who are so far away. It’s also such a great way to meet people with similar interest and/or varied mindsets. We do have our Facebook page that will continue to be active and hopefully fun but also will hopefully get Instagram up very soon to post all the goat and farm pictures on. This is fun and we love sharing what makes us the people we are.


And finally, the Blog. Remember when I mentioned above that I love writing? The blog is a perfect outlet. The goal we (and by we I mean Mom and I) have set is one post a week with each week focusing on a different category. We would like to do a personal farm post one week, a goat business article one week, a health and management article one week, and lastly… because I think this is such a cool idea Mom is going to take one week to write an article from her point of view. She isn’t a goat person but she is learning and I am excited for her to share her journey of the goats with everyone. And maybe, if you guys press her about it she’ll even jump up to two posts a month.



I can’t tell y'all how excited I am about this… Do we need to do all of this stuff? No. But we enjoy it and we hope that maybe you guys will enjoy it too. Be on the lookout for Mom's first article within the next few days. - Katie



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page